Benjamin Hookway

Please briefly describe your clinical/medical experience to date?

I have worked in Care Homes, looking after individuals with Neuro-generative disorders. I have also worked for with children who have a severe brain injury.

What motivated you to enter paediatric care in the first place?

I met a little lad who suffered with arthritis growing up. He was picked on for being different and this just didn’t sit right with me. I decided that I wanted to look after this lad and make him feel as normal as possible around his peers.

How will the funding from The Evie Dove Foundation help you to advance your career and your impact/services to children?

The Evie Dove Foundation aims to support my pursuit of a master’s degree, which will pave the way for my career in neuroimaging within clinical care. During my work with children dealing with brain injuries, I recognized the unfortunate reality that many of them are unable to receive the assistance they deserve due to financial constraints. Following the completion of my master’s program, my goal is to pursue a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology, with the ultimate vision of establishing a clinic that offers children the essential care they might otherwise lack. My long-term objective is to make brain scans readily accessible to everyone, enabling us to detect neurological issues early on and provide the necessary care and support. By doing so, we can significantly improve the lives of these children and enhance the overall well-being of the community.

How did you find out about The Evie Dove Foundation?

Through a wonderful women called Linda Keenan.

Tell us about yourself!

I currently live in Bedfordshire, about to move Manchester with my girlfriend for my masters. I have three sisters, two brothers, so quite a large family. I am golf obsessed, football obsessed, cricket obsessed… my girlfriend has come to terms with she is my second love after Luton Town. I am also grade 8 on the piano so if I am not playing sport I am sat playing Bach or Mozart… and chess. I think I would have fitted right in to the 17/1800’s. I also love travelling. I plan to have one year out after my masters to go visit Australia and tour round there. I want to see the great barrier reef; scuba diving and snorkelling. Something I am incredibly proud of is after my undergraduate degree I was given the privilege of the student speech. All be it not an award, it was incredibly motivating and filled me with such happiness that I was able to add to 300 people’s graduation ceremony. I made them laugh, cry, laugh again… and that will always be a day that I remember.

Anything else you would like to tell us about your experience, future aspirations and motivations?

I just want to help. I grew up in an medium household. We weren’t having steak and salmon but similarly there was options for dinner. I just know how many people don’t have that because of so many different factors and why does that mean I can get help and they can’t? Sadly, when we are all not here anymore, each of us the same. We don’t really own anything, apart from the 70/80 years that we are here on this earth for. I just really want to help those people have the best chance because it is not fair.